New era dawns for expanded Super Rugby league

The 2016 Super Rugby season, the first to feature franchises from outside Australia, New Zealand and South Africa, begins today with an expanded 18-team league. Among the newcomers are the Jaguares of Argentina and Asia's first representative, the Sunwolves, who will be co-based in Japan and Singapore. New Zealand's Highlanders captured their maiden championship last year and will again be a force to be reckoned with. The Straits Times looks at all 18 teams ahead of the 21st season of the most prestigious rugby club league in the world.

- Every weekend from today to July 16 (with a break for international matches in June). Dates: Play-offs start on July 22, final is on Aug 6. Available on Setanta Sports (StarHub TV Channel 217).
- All teams will play 15 home and away matches, with two rounds of bye, across the Format: various conferences. The winners of the four conferences qualify for the play-offs, will be seeded and have home advantage for the quarter-finals. They will be joined by four wildcard entries comprising the three next-best sides from the Australasian group and the best-placed team in the South African group.

AUSTRALASIAN GROUP



New Zealand's Highlanders, who clinched their maiden Super Rugby title last year, will be among the favourites ahead of this season's expanded 18-team league which begins today.

SOUTH AFRICAN GROUP

South Africa 1 conference

Bulls

Head coach: Nollis Marais Captain: Adriaan Strauss Home ground: Loftus Versfeld, Pretoria 2015: 9th

Cheetahs

2015: 12th

Stormers

Head coach: Franco Smith Captain: Francois Venter Home ground: Toyota Stadium, Bloemfontein





Sunwolves



Head coach: Mark Hammett Captain: Shota Horie Home around: Chichibunomiva Rugby Stadium, Tokyo, and National Stadium, Singapore

2015: DNP (New franchise)

South Africa 2 conference

Southern Kings

Head coach: Deon Davids Captain: Steven Sykes Home ground: Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium 2015: DNP (Relegated in 2013)

Lions



NGS

Head coach: Johan Ackermann Captain: Warren Whiteley Home ground: Emirates Airline Park, Johannesburg 2015: 8th





Head coach: Gary Gold **Captain:** Patrick Lambie Home ground: Growthpoint Kings Park, Durban 2015: 11th

Jaguares

Head coach: Raul Perez Captain: Agustin Creevy Home ground: Estadio Jose Amalfitani, Buenos Aires 2015: DNP (New franchise)



The teams:

ORCE

Australian conference

Brumbies

Head coach: Stephen Larkham

Home ground: GIO Stadium, Canberra

Captains: Stephen Moore,

Head coach: Michael Foley

Head coach: Tony McGahan

Head coach: Richard Graham

New South Wales Waratahs

Home ground: Suncorp Stadium,

Captain: James Slipper

Home ground: nib Stadium, Perth

Home ground: AAMI Park, Melbourne

Captain: Matt Hodgson

Melbourne Rebels

Queensland Reds

Captain: Nic Stirzaker

Christian Lealiifano

2015: Semi-finals

Western Force

2015: 15th

2015: 10th

Brisbane

2015: 13th

Head coach: Daryl Gibson Captain: Michael Hooper Home ground: Allianz Stadium, Sydney 2015: Semi-finals

New Zealand conference

Blues

Head coach: Tana Umaga Captain: Jerome Kaino Home ground: Eden Park, Auckland



Captains: Aaron Cruden, Sam Cane Home ground: FMG Stadium Waikato, Hamilton

Captain: Kieran Read Home ground: AMI Stadium, Christchurch 2015: 7th









Highlanders





2015: 14th Chiefs Head coach: David Rennie



Crusaders







JAGUARES





Head coach: Todd Blackadder