From Mao to Xi: a timeline of China's leadership















Major figures since the start of communist rule

Mao Zedong Chairman

Hua Guofeng Chairman

Hu YaobangChairman/
General secretary

- **Zhao Ziyang** General secretary

Jiang Zemin General secretary

2002

Hu JintaoGeneral secretary

Xi Jinping General secretary



Premier



Reform era leader



Communist Party proposes deleting from the Constitution the stipulation that a president "shall serve no more than two consecutive terms" of five years – paving the way for President Xi Jinping to remain as head of state after 2023

2012